Friday, December 18, 2009

Maoists declare Madhesh state from Janakpur

The Unified CPN (Maoist) have wrapped up their autonomous state declaration programme by declaring Madhesh autonomous state on Friday.

Maoist vice-chairman Dr Babu Ram Bhattarai announced the establishment of Madhesh state amid a programme organized at the historic site of Barabigha Ranabhoomi Maidan in Janakpur district this afternoon.

The Madhesh state comprises 12 terai districts from Saptari in the east to Kapivastu in mid-west Nepal.

With the announcement, the Maoists have finished declaration of 13 autonomous states based on ethnicity and region.

Earlier, the Maoists had declared Limbuwan, Kochila, Kirat, Sherpa, Bher-Karnali, Tharuwan, Seti-Mahakali, Tamsaling, Newa, Bhote, Magarat and Tamuwan autonomous states.

Notwithstanding criticism and protest from several quarters, the Maoists had continued their autonomous state declaration programme since Dec 11 as part of their third round of protests to uphold 'civilian supremacy."

The Maoists are now all set to go ahead with their pre-announced plan to impose nationwide general strike for three days starting Dec 20

No comments: